BERNINA Ambassador Blog Hop – Meet Some New Friends!

I love being a brand ambassador for BERNINA and one of the perks about representing this fabulous company is getting to know other amazing ambassadors here in the US. A bunch of us got together recently and thought it would be fun to help our followers get to know more of us better.

BERNINA Ambassador

Scroll to the end of this post for the complete BERNINA blog hop schedule and click all of the links to learn more about each person. ūüôā If you are interested in booking someone for an upcoming guild event or quilt show, each link will go to that person’s website, and emails are included, too.

Christa Watson, BERNINA ambassador

My first project was sewn on a BERNINA back in 1994 and it was love at first stitch! Today, I piece and quilt on a BERNINA 770 QE.

About Christa

I’ve been quilting since the early 90’s but only found my “voice” in the quilting community when I saw a modern quilt in a magazine back in 2012 and attended the first QuiltCon in 2013. I came home from that event on fire with enthusiasm for modern quilting and the larger quilting community in general. Up until that time I had been teaching quilting classes locally, but was under the false impression that I had to wait until my kids were grown and out of the house to start pursuing teaching and publishing as a full time career.

Christa Watson Books

Click here to see all of the quilts from both of my books.

Coming home from QuiltCon was a game changer. I immediately began work on a book proposal which was accepted and then published as Machine Quilting with Style in 2015. That was followed by my second book co-authored with Angela Walters, The Ultimate Guide to Machine Quilting in 2016. I also have a third book coming out later this year (more about that, soon!) My favorite technique to teach is quilting on a domestic machine, and I love seeing that spark of excitement when students realize that they can quilt amazing designs on a home sewing machine!

My family on a recent vacation – these guys are the pride and joy of my life!!

My husband Jason and I run an online store, The Precut Store where we sell precuts and Aurifil thread. He quit his job as a CPA about 10 years ago to join me in the business full-time and we’ve never looked back! Our kids have all worked for us in our business at one time or another and they’ve all decided they are NOT into quilting which is totally ok!!

In fact I have a funny story to tell about mothers and daughters quilting. Although my daughter made a quilt when she was about 8 years old, she has since decided to pursue other creative interests like writing and drawing. She was 12 when I was writing the book with Angela. When she learned that Angela had written a book with her daughter, she came up to me and said, “Mom – is it okay that I don’t want to write a book with you?” I answered, “Of course! Most quilting moms DON’T write actually write books with their daughters, so that’s perfectly fine!”

I have to be truthful and say that quilting consumes most of my day. Since it’s my full-time job I put in a lot of long hours, but since it’s also my hobby, it’s really easy to do! I hope you enjoy getting to know many of the other BERNINA ambassadors – they are quilting and sewing enthusiasts, just like you!

BERNINA ambassador 2015

Some of the BERNINA ambassadors at the 2015 Ambassador Reunion.

BERNINA Ambassador Blog Hop Schedule:

Monday March 20
Lynn Carson Harris harrislc@gmail.com
Kelly Ashton kelly@kellyquilter.com
Diane Doran info@dianedoran.com
Melody Crust melody@melodycrust.com

Tuesday March 21
Kathy Delaney kathy@kathydelaney.com
Christa Watson christa@christaquilts.com
Mandy Leins mandalei@gmail.com

Wednesday March 22
Sandy Fitzpatrick hissyfitz@earthlink.net
Beth Ferrier beth@applewd.com
Cheryl Sleboda cherylsleboda@gmail.com

Thursday March 23
Annie Smith annie@anniesmith.net
Lori Kennedy lckennedy@hotmail.com
Kari Carr kari@newleafstitches.com
Catherine Redford catherine@catherineredford.com

Friday March 24
Joanne Sharpe jzsharpe@yahoo.com
Cherry Guidry cherry@cherryblossomsquilting.com
Jenelle Montilone jenelle@trashn2tees.com

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “BERNINA Ambassador Blog Hop – Meet Some New Friends!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s